The Fivephase Model

IT organizations are accustomed to projects being broken into phases, typically those defined by a system development lifecycle (SDLC) model. Six Sigma initiatives are frequently described as using a DMAIC model, where DMAIC is an acronym for the five phases of a process improvement model. The phases and their primary objectives are listed in Exhibit 1.

Exhibit 1. The Five-Phase DMAIC Model




Identify the problem and the customers; define and prioritize the customers' requirements.


Confirm and quantify the problem; identify and measure the various steps in the current process; revise or clarify the problem statement, if necessary.


Determine the root cause of the problem.


Develop and implement the solution.


Measure the improvements and ensure that they continue.

While these may appear to be similar to a traditional SDLC, there are some important differences. The following example illustrates the use of the DMAIC model and Six Sigma processes in IT systems analysis.

Project Management Made Easy

Project Management Made Easy

What you need to know about… Project Management Made Easy! Project management consists of more than just a large building project and can encompass small projects as well. No matter what the size of your project, you need to have some sort of project management. How you manage your project has everything to do with its outcome.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment