Basics Of

The ISO 9000 series, developed by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), are standards that provide a framework for developing quality systems. Currently, five standards exist:




Guidelines on using standards


Design, manufacture, install, and service of systems


Production and installation




Final inspection and testing


Quality management

In 1991, the ISO developed ISO 9000-3 for software development. It identifies quality controls (QC) for developing, supplying, and maintaining software; focuses on conforming to requirements throughout the life cycle of software; calls for defining, documenting, and communicating policies and objectives on quality; and requires reviews, inspections, defined responsibilities, version control, and other QC-related disciplines being in place. These QC disciplines and others should be documented in a quality plan.

Putting such QC disciplines in place is, however, not enough. The standards require the companies to be certified, too, via a registrar who audits for compliance with the standards. If it passes the review, the firm becomes ISO 9000 certified, subject to periodic recertifications.

The ISO 9000 series is gaining recognition in the IS community. Firms like Sybase and Hewlett-Packard have already embraced ISO certification.

Project Management Made Easy

Project Management Made Easy

What you need to know about… Project Management Made Easy! Project management consists of more than just a large building project and can encompass small projects as well. No matter what the size of your project, you need to have some sort of project management. How you manage your project has everything to do with its outcome.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment