Assigned To

The Assigned To drop-down list includes everyone who's a user of your FogBugz installation. You can assign a case to another user in three ways:

• When you're editing the case, you can choose a user in the drop-down list.

• Instead of editing a case, you can click the Assign To button, which lets you select a new user and add notes without making any other changes.

• When you resolve a case, it's automatically assigned to the user who entered the case in the first place.

The first entry in the drop-down list will always be the primary contact for the project to which the case is assigned. If you're entering a new case, this is the person to whom FogBugz will automatically assign the case.

Sometimes, people will want to share the ownership of a case among multiple people. In principle this sounds good, but in real life, if a task or bug is owned by more than one person, it is owned by nobody and gets neglected. That is why FogBugz is written to assume one person per bug.

On the other hand, sometimes you have a team of people who are equally capable of working on a set of tasks or bugs, and you want to be able to assign the bug to that team for a while before you decide who is going to work on it. There are two ways to do this.

The traditional way is simply to assign it to the team lead. The team lead winds up with a bunch of bugs that they are not going to work on personally, but which they haven't yet passed out to the team members.

Another good way is to create an account in FogBugz for the whole team in addition to personal accounts. You can assign bugs to this virtual account, and tell the team members that when they have a chance they should go through the bugs assigned to their team and then personally assign to themselves any bugs which they are ready to work on. For example, you might create a virtual account called "New Bugs," with e-mail notification turned off on that account, and set that as the project owner. The team members responsible for assigning bugs could each check the bugs assigned to "New Bugs" regularly, using a saved filter, and assign the bugs to individuals.

If there are several people who need to be notified whenever something changes about a bug, they can all subscribe to the bug by clicking the small link at the bottom of the bug report.

0 0

Post a comment