This standard, with the title ''Processes for Engineering a System,'' has been promulgated by the Electronic Industries Association (EIA) [2.6]. Although an earlier version of this standard (1994) looked quite a lot like Mil-Std-499B, the later version represented a considerable departure.

Several important points can be made about this standard. First, it was basically developed through the combined efforts of the EIA and the International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE). Second, it represents a shift from systems engineering to the processes that are required in order to engineer any type of system. This may be viewed as related to the notions of business process reengineering, which holds that systems may be enhanced by improving the processes that lead to the design and development of these systems. Third, and most significant, is the overall structure of the standard. This structure identifies thirteen processes that are critical to the engineering of systems, with these processes cited under the five categories listed below:

A. Acquisition and Supply

1. Supply process

2. Acquisition process

B. Technical Management

3. Planning process

4. Assessment process

5. Control process

C. System Design

6. Requirements definition process

7. Solution definition process

D. Product Realization

8. Implementation process

9. Transition to use process

E. Technical Evaluation

10. Systems analysis process

11. Requirements validation process

12. System verification process

13. End products validation process

Some thirty-three requirements are also related to the above thirteen processes. This extremely interesting approach shows, among other things, that there are many ways to look at the issue of the engineering of systems.

This is another standard provided by the Electronic Industries Association (EIA), focusing upon the Systems Engineering Capability Model (SECM) [2.7]. The standard itself was the result of the joint efforts of the EIA, INCOSE, and the Enterprise Process Improvement Collaboration (EPIC). Previously, the Systems Engineering Capability Maturity Model, developed at the Software Engineering Institute of Carnegie-Mellon University, had produced the first such model, based upon the structure of their software model. This was called the SE-CMM. INCOSE then formulated their version of such a model, namely, the Systems Engineering Capability Model (SECAM). The SECM then became the consequence of harmonizing these two earlier models.

The standard itself is divided into two parts. One is the model itself, and the other is the SECM appraisal method.

Just as the original software capability maturity model addressed the matter of how to assess and improve the capability of an organization to develop and utilize all aspects of software, this standard had basically the same intent, except as applied to the field of systems engineering. An important step in developing all of these models is to decide upon a series of focus areas, or process areas, which has been done in all cases.

Additional information regarding capability maturity models will be provided in later chapters, in particular 10 and 12. Further variations on these themes, including integrated models, will also be described.

Project Management Made Easy

Project Management Made Easy

What you need to know about… Project Management Made Easy! Project management consists of more than just a large building project and can encompass small projects as well. No matter what the size of your project, you need to have some sort of project management. How you manage your project has everything to do with its outcome.

Get My Free Ebook

Post a comment